Home > Uncategorized > Why I blog and blogging goals for 2011

Why I blog and blogging goals for 2011

I started this blog last spring because I couldn’t find data/charts on Canadian economic accounts and financial markets… I was hoping to ‘fill’ a gap. That is what I think now but that could be biased based on my blogging experience since…

luckily I did describe the reason for blogging here:

… my goal with this blog is to try and answer some of my questions on personal finance and broadly on capital markets while I start building my retirement portfolio… i find it easier to learn visually – pictures, charts, videos, etc – instead of reading tons of material…whenever possible I will simplify lear

here are some of my questions on personal finance

  • are we paying too much for banking services in Canada?
  • canadian housing scene?
  • why don’t consumer rates move in tandem with bank of canada rate?

The above is the perfect example of a false memory or consistency bias:

confusion of imagination with memory, or the confusion of true memories with false memories.

incorrectly remembering one’s past attitudes and behavior as resembling present attitudes and behavior

Anyways, I want to blog more and use blogging  as a tool towards completing CFA… I write the Level 2 exam in June so I will be posting regularly till then and then hopefully in Fall I will start writing about level 3! … and in the meantime try to apply what I have learnt with at least one post a week.

Why do I like blogging?

Because it

  1. is fun!
  2. helps clear thoughts
  3. invokes questions resulting in deeper analysis
  4. enhances writing skills
  5. creates a permanent record and eliminates memory biases (like above)

Here are some more reasons from blogs I frequent:

The Big Picture

Abnormal Returns

It is not easy but I’m promising to make use of The DailyPost, and the community of other bloggers with similar goals, to help me along the way, including asking for help when I need it and encouraging others when I can.

If you already read my blog, I hope you’ll encourage me with comments and likes, and good will along the way :)

Update (30-Mar-2011): This post by Eric Jackson on 7 reason why any investor should write is also pretty neat.

  1. Gary
    February 23, 2011 at 1:19 PM | #1

    Loving the blog! I highly covet unbiased data and analysis.

    Good luck on your CFA!

    Keep on truckin’

    Regards,
    Gary

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

